Result – matching unknown photograph to research!

Result - matching unknown photograph to research!

I had had this photograph taken by W Salmon in High Street Bedford in a box of things lent to me by my parents for a few months and none of us knew who the family group were.

Being such a beautiful photo I wanted to investigate further and through using my previous family research and census records I discovered that it possibly matched to Laura Capon (nee Dix) and her five children Chester, Dorothy, Miriam, Leonard and Edwin.

The date written on the back of the photo was 31st August 1905 which would fit with the ages of the children I have found in the 1911 census records.

The only strange thing was that Laura Capon did not appear on the 1911 census page and there is nothing written for wife and it appears after further research that Laura sadly died in 1907 aged 36.

Laura was the sister of my Great Grandmother Ellen Louise Dix who married Joseph Last and I imagine this is how the photo has been passed down through the family.

It is such a poignant photo and lovely to see smiling faces and I find it so sad that to think that two years after it was taken Laura had died and these beautiful children were left with no mother.

However I am so pleased to have been able to give the names back to those in the photo and bring it back to life!

Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Result – matching unknown photograph to research!

  1. Very beautiful! And how sad to realize the history behind it.

Leave a Reply

