World War 1 Frontline Walk Challenge Update

I have now completed and returned from my World War 1 Frontline Walk through France and Belgium. I enjoyed the whole walk experience from beginning to end – the weather was kind to us and my feet coped ok with only a couple of blisters!

My fundraising total to date stands at £4513.52 (plus Gift Aid) for ABF The Soldiers Charity, which is way beyond my expectations and a fantastic result and without all the support, this wouldn’t have been possible so thank you.

The icing on the cake for me was being asked as the second highest fundraiser on this challenge to be part of the team of three laying the wreath at the Last Post Ceremony at the Menin Gate on the Saturday evening after the walk finished – this was an emotional and moving memory that will live with me forever and the Framlingham War Memorial men were very much on my mind as I did this.

Thanks again

P1040531

Simon

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to World War 1 Frontline Walk Challenge Update

  1. Jana Last says:

    Well done Simon! Congratulations!

  2. Jana Last says:

    Simon,

    I want to let you know that your blog post is listed in today’s Fab Finds post at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2014/11/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-november-7.html

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Simon Last says:

    Thanks Jana that is most appreciated

Leave a Reply

