Queen’s Telegram on Diamond Day

During my own LAST family tree researched I discovered that my Great Grandparents Joseph and Ellen LAST (nee DIX) celebrated their Diamond Wedding Anniversary on the 24th October 1959 and mention of their wedding at the church in Parham in Suffolk in 1899 was in the local newspapers.

Diamond Day  Diamond Wedding

The family were obviously very proud of this landmark occasion and all the clippings were kept from the local newspaper, together with other letters and cards which marked the occasion.

I also found out that a group family photograph was taken of Joseph and Ellen with all their children and grandchildren (including my dad) and it is great to have all the generations together in one place and photograph.

Last Family 001  Joseph & Ellen

I just wish I had met Joseph and Ellen, as I have so many questions I would like to ask them about all the events they saw in their lifetime, but I am very grateful that I have all this family memorabilia to remember the 60th anniversary of their marriage.

Simon

charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com

http://www.charnwood-genealogy.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Queen’s Telegram on Diamond Day

  1. Jana Last says:

    Wow! A telegram from the Queen! How exciting!

  2. Jana Last says:

    Simon,

    I want to let you know that your blog post is listed in today’s Fab Finds post at http://janasgenealogyandfamilyhistory.blogspot.com/2015/02/follow-friday-fab-finds-for-february-13.html

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

