The tragic death of George DIX 3rd May 1890

When I started researching my family tree several years ago my dad had a box of old papers and photographs that he very kindly lent me to see if I could link the various documents to the family members I was discovering in my research.

Amongst these items were several memorial cards including one for George DIX my Great Great Uncle, who had died on the 3rd May 1890 aged only 22 and the wording said ‘who met with an accident on may 1st’ and this intrigued me to investigate further.

george

I therefore decided to order a copy of his death certificate and discovered that he had died as a result of a tragic accident on the railway where he was working at Marks Tey in Essex as a Shunter for the Great Eastern Railway Company – the cause of death was reported as follows:

“Shock to system accidently knocked down and run over by railway truck – lived 2 days and 12 hours”

George Dix death cert

There was also an inquest date shown of 5th May 1890 in Colchester and I was able to obtain a copy of this report from the Essex Records Office in Chelmsford.

George DIX inquest report 1890  George DIX inquest report 1890 1

I also found newspaper articles reporting the accident and inquest and discovered that George had been engaged and due to get married later that year.

George DIX Bury and Norwich Post Newspaper 6th May 1890

Bury and Norwich Post Newspaper – 6th May 1890

I was pleased to discover so much more information about George and his death, albeit under very tragic circumstances and it all started because I was curious about the wording on his memorial card.

Simon Last

charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com

http://www.charnwood-genealogy.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The tragic death of George DIX 3rd May 1890

  1. True! says:

    Happy 2nd Blogiversary Simon!

Leave a Reply

