Letter from a Framlingham Soldier in Gallipoli

Now that the old Framlingham Weekly News newspapers are available to view online I have been spending more time researching the papers from the World War 1 period in more detail.

The paper often featured letters in a column called “War Notes” and I have recently found this letter in the 2nd October 1915 issue sent home to Framlingham:

Framlingham Soldier in Gallipoli

Gallipoli Sept. 5th 1915 – The Trenches

Dear Sirs,

It will interest several of my friends in Framlingham and also some of my old chums of “G” Co. in France, to know that I am with my Battalion on this Peninsular. I know your “Weekly News” is sent to our boys in France and as you have so kindly offered to publish “War Notes” I should be glad if through your columns you would convey my heartiest best wishes to my old chums and I trust that Tom Bonney, Sam Thompson and all are well.

It is impossible for me to write to them individually, that is why I am appealing to your generosity. We have a very difficult task before us here. We were in a heavy engagement a very few hours after landing, but we are very cheerful. Thanking you in anticipation and with very best wishes to your good selves.

I remain

Yours very respectfully

Walter Creasey (Sergt) – No. 3449 B Company

2/4 Queen’s R.W. Surrey Regiment – British Med. Exp. Force

Framlingham Weekly News Saturday 2nd October 1915

Even in the conditions our local lads were coping with during this war, thoughts of Framlingham and their friends were never far away.

Simon Last

www.charnwood-genealogy.com                charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

