Private Henry James TODD 202862 died 12th December 1917 aged 34

Following on from my blog post last week about George Robert TODD my 3rd cousin 3 times removed, I have been since been contacted by Jenny TODD about another 3rd cousin 3 times removed Henry James TODD, who is remembered on the Hacheston War Memorial in Suffolk.

Henry James TODD

Henry James TODD (1883-1917)

Henry James TODD and George Robert TODD both descend from my 5 times Great Grandfather Joseph TODD (1747-1827).

Henry James TODD was born on 10th December 1883 in Parham in Suffolk and he was the son of Henry and Maria TODD (nee NEEVE) and he was baptised in Parham Church on the 10th February 1884.

Parham Church 14 4 15

He married Kate HOLMES in the April quarter of 1909 in Suffolk and the 1911 census shows them living at Low Cottgaes in Hacheston in Suffolk, with one daughter Emily aged 11 months. Henry’s occupation like George Robert TODD’s last week, is shown as a Gardener Domestic.

Henry TODD 1911 Census

Source – Ancestry.co.uk – 1911 census

Apart from their daughter Emily Jane TODD born in the April quarter of 1910, Henry and Kate also had another daughter Kathleen born in the January quarter of 1914 and a son Henry Arthur born on 3rd August 1915.

Jenny has very kindly sent me some photographs and a letter sent by Henry during the war to his daughter Emily and I thank her for allowing me to share these with you in this blog.

Harry James TODD letter to his daughter Emily

My Dear Little Emily

Just a line or two thanking you for your kind letter which I was pleased to receive. Glad to hear you were quite well. I hope you will look after little Kathie and Harry and don’t let them forget me. Now I must close with my fondest love to you and all.

From your Daddy

Henry was Private 202862 with the ‘C’ Company of the 15th Suffolk Regiment and he died on 12th December 1917 aged 34 and is Remembered with Honour at the Kantara War Memorial Cemetery in Egypt.

Harry James TODD grave Eqypt

In the early part of the First World War, Kantara was an important point in the defence of Suez against Turkish attacks and marked the starting point of the new railway east towards Sinai and Palestine, begun in January 1916. Kantara developed into a major base and hospital centre and the cemetery was begun in February 1916 for burials from the various hospitals, continuing in use until late 1920. After the Armistice, the cemetery was more than doubled in size when graves were brought in from other cemeteries and desert battlefields, notably those at Rumani, Qatia, El Arish and Rafa.

Henry James TODD CWGC

http://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/475557/TODD,%20HENRY%20JAMES

Henry TODD CWGC

Source Ancestry.co.uk – UK, Commonwealth War Graves, 1914-1921 and 1939-1947

I have also found Henry’s WW1 Medal Index Card and his entry on the Soldier’s Effects Register as below:

Henry J TODD WW1 Medal Card

Source – Ancestry.co.uk – British Army WWI Medal Rolls Index Cards, 1914-1920

Henry James TODD Soldiers Effects WW1

Source Ancestry.co.uk – UK, Army Registers of Soldiers’ Effects, 1901-1929

As mentioned above Henry TODD is also remembered on the Hacheston village War Memorial in Suffolk

Henry TODD Hacheston from Jenny TODD 28 10 15

Hacheston War Memorial

© Copyright Basher Eyre and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

FWN Hacheston War Memorial Saturday 27th September 1919

Hacheston War Memorial

Framlingham Weekly News – Saturday 27th September 1919

Hacheston Postcard 27 7 15

I am very proud of the sacrifice my two TODD cousins made during WW1 and feel privileged to be able to share their stories with you.

Simon Last

charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com               www.charnwood-genealogy.com

This entry was posted in Hacheston, Parham, World War 1 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Private Henry James TODD 202862 died 12th December 1917 aged 34

  1. Tony Todd says:

    Thanks for this interesting article. Henry James Todd is my 3rd cousin 2 times removed. Joseph TODD (1747-1827) is my 4 time grandfather. I am currently writing a novel which will feature some real characters from 19th century Parham. I’d love to find some photographs of my 2nd great grandfather Thomas William TODD (1818-1901) and any of his family. So if anyone has anything please share.

    • Hi Tony

      Thanks for your message and as I have TODD’s from Parham in my family tree too we could be related somehow – I will investigate!

      I also run a Parham One Place Study Facebook page where I post lots of old photos and information about the village and may be useful for your research.

      Kind regards

      Simon

  2. Hi Tony
    I have checked my family tree and Thomas William TODD (1818-1901) is showing as my 4th Great Uncle so we do have a definite connection – I will see if I can find any other useful information for your research.
    Kind regards
    Simon

    • Tony Todd says:

      Thanks Simon, We must be cousins of some sort I guess! I do have a family tree on Ancestry, so I have got a fair bit of info. But it’s great to see photographs of ancestors. Bt the way, I’ve liked you Facebook page. Cheers

      Tony

Leave a Reply

