H F G Seargeant: 12 Churchill Street Leicester – Xmas 1909

On my way back from the Who Do You Think You Are? Exhibition in Birmingham this weekend I took a more leisurely journey home enjoying the sunshine and stopping at a few antiques fairs and centres en route, to see if I could find any interesting old postcards to research or that may be linked to Framlingham in Suffolk, Parham my One Place Study or LAST my One Name Study.

I had no luck finding anything directly linked to my own research, but I am always intrigued when I find amongst many old photo postcards any that have a name, address or even a date on the back, that may help me to research them further and possibly reunite them with a  family member – as in my recent Crippin & Co photo discovery and Canadian reunion!

The photo I found yesterday was taken at the Studios of S A C Williams of 90 Granby Street in Leicester as below:

H F G Seargeant photo 1909

On the back is written:

12 Churchill Street, Leicester, Xmas 1909

With best wishes for Christmas & the New Year

H F G Seargeant

H F G Seargeant photo 1909 reverse

Using this name and searching online birth records I have found the birth of a Harry Frederick G Seargeant in the March quarter of 1879 in the Peterbro’ Registration District – if this was my man he would have been aged 30 in 1909.

Looking at census records using this name and birth year I have found a Harry Frederick Goodyer Seargeant on the 1901 census, aged 22, living with his mother Mary Ann Seargeant and his siblings William Thomas Keach Seargeant aged 23, Grace Gandern Seargeant aged 20 and Joseph Edward Seargeant aged 14.

Harry’s occupation is given as a Sorting Clerk for the G.P.O and a Telegraphist.

1901 census Seargeant

Source Citation: Ancestry 1901 Census Class: RG13; Piece: 1462; Folio: 7; Page: 5

From this I have also found Harry’s entry in the British Postal Service Appointment Books, 1737-1969

Seargeant GPO record

Source: Ancestry – British Postal Service Appointment Books, 1737-1969

Harry’s baptism record from 15th April 1879 in Brigstock Northamptonshire shows his parents as William and Mary Ann Seargeant and using these details I have found a marriage in the September quarter of 1876 in the Thrapston Registration District for a William John Seargeant and a Mary Ann Keach – one of the middle names given to Harry’s brother William.

Using all this information I have found one family tree on Ancestry with a  possible match to Harry F G Seargeant and as it is marked as a private tree I can check no further details  at this stage, so I have sent a message to the owner to see if they can provide any more details about Harry, with a view to reuniting the photo if it is a positive match!

I will keep you updated on developments in due course.

Simon Last

http://www.charnwood-genealogy.com            charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com

 

This entry was posted in Granby Street Leicester, Leicester, SEARGEANT. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to H F G Seargeant: 12 Churchill Street Leicester – Xmas 1909

  1. Nicole says:

    Great idea. Hope they respond!

  2. Janice Brown says:

    Please! Keep us updated. You are wonderful to research these photographs!

  3. Pingback: Favorite Reads of the Week: 16 April 2016 – Youth doing family history; Ancestor devotion; Wearable genealogy tech – Family Locket

Leave a Reply

