Mystery photo? – St George’s Men’s Service

Whilst on my recent travels I picked up another fascinating old black and white photograph of a group of young men, but what really caught my eye was the sign / notice that one of the men to the left of the photograph is holding.

St Georges Mens Service photo 1 13 5 16

Using a magnifying glass it appears to say St George’s Men’s Service and although there is other writing underneath, I have been unable to read this so far.

St Georges Mens Service photo 2 13 5 16

I have tried researching St George’s Men’s Service online and so far I have found no information that seems to fit with this photograph.

I am therefore hoping that someone out there does know something about this organisation and whether it had a military connection.

If you can help me in my research I would be really pleased to hear from you.

Many thanks

Simon Last

charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com          http://www.charnwood-genealogy.com

 

This entry was posted in St George's Men's Service, World War 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mystery photo? – St George’s Men’s Service

  1. Possibly related to CEMS – the Church of England Men’s Society?

  2. Many thanks David I will investigate this further

Leave a Reply

