Looking for relatives of the ALABASTER family from Romford in Essex?

I was in York at the weekend and whilst there I spent time exploring the Antique shops looking for old postcards to add to my own personal collections or possibly as a research project in the future.

I find photographic postcards of people very interesting and I am always hopeful of finding a name or clue to possibly identify the sitter or family shown.

Therefore I was pleased to find a set of photo postcards muddled up in a random box that all seemed to relate to the same family – on investigating the backs a pencil note had been added to each saying ‘ Mrs ALABASTER 109 Marks Road Romford’

alabaster-1

alabaster-6

The postcards appear to feature three generations of the same family – so is it the ALABASTER family?

alabaster-5

alabaster-2

alabaster-3

alabaster-4

 I have been able to find 109 Marks Road in Romford on the 1911 census and there is an ALABASTER family living there – Head of house Alberta ALABASTER aged 36 a Shop Keeper, Ruth ALABASTER daughter aged 14 and Alfred ALABASTER brother aged 54.

alabaster-1911-census

Source Information: Ancestry.com. 1911 England Census Source Citation: Class: RG14; Piece: 9832; Schedule Number: 42

I was unable to find a marriage record for Alberta, but I did find a birth record in the October quarter of 1876 in Romford Registration District (RD) for an Alberta Teresa ALABASTER and from this found a death record for her, again in the Romford RD, in September 1960 aged 84.

From this death record I found a Probate record in 1960, which again shows the address 109 Marks Road in Romford, which means the ALABASTER family had been connected to the property for over 50 years.

alabaster-probate

Source Information: Ancestry.com. England & Wales, National Probate Calendar (Index of Wills and Administrations), 1858-1966, 1973-1995

Researching other census records I have found Alberta aged 14 on the 1891 census, again in Romford, living with parents Robert Hedges and Sarah Ann ALABASTER with siblings Walter and Henrietta.

If anyone has a connection to the ALABASTER family it would be great to hear from you, as I would love to reunite these old photos with a relative if possible and also discover more about the faces in the photos!

Simon LAST

http://www.charnwood-genealogy.com

charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com

This entry was posted in 109 Marks Road, Old Photographs, Postcard, Romford. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Looking for relatives of the ALABASTER family from Romford in Essex?

  1. Fabulous set of old photos Simon, well done. Hope you find family 😊

  2. What a wonderful set of photographs. Nice find.

  3. gill says:

    My aunt lived in Hornchurch, not a million miles away from Romford and had a friend called Ruby Alabaster. Dont know where she lived though. I too collect postcards and would love to reunite them with their descendants. I wish you luck.

  4. Janice Brown says:

    Simon, how gorgeous these photograph are, and how wonderful you are to research them. Hoping your Alabaster family has relatives who connect with you through this story.

  5. Simon there is an Alabaster One name study run by Laraine Hake http://one-name.org/name_profile/alabaster/ – interesting find.

  6. Food Fan says:

    Romford ceased being in Essex in 1965. Since then Romford has been in London as part of the London Borough of Havering in east London.

  7. leswin says:

    If you haven’t found the family yet, it may be worth contacting the local paper (Romford Recorder). There are often letters published in there from people trying to contact friends, relatives etc and many are successful.

  8. Denise Moreton says:

    Hello Simon, just googled my great great grandfathers name, Robert Hedges Alabaster and found the Link with the photos. My great grandmother was Henrietta Florence Alabaster who married James Percy Upton. The family, Henrietta and James Percy eventually moved to Birmingham and they had 18 children in total my grandfather Percy James Upton who was the eldest and born in Chelmsford Essex. I just wondered what hapoened to the photos as Henrietta was my great grandmother and I do not have any photos of her. I am a member of the Alabaster Society and the photos would be of interest to both myself, my family and the Alabaster Society. Hope you can advise me please.
    Denise Moreton

    • Hi Denise, many thanks for your message and the information about your links to the Alabaster family which are very much appreciated. The photos have now been sent to the Alabaster Society for their archives – if I can tell you anything else please just let me know. Best wishes Simon

      • Denise Moreton says:

        Thanks for getting back to me Simon. I have since spoken to my cousin Janice
        and she has informed me that the photos are now with the Alabaster Society which I am pleased about as everyone who has an interest in them will be able to gain access to them. Thanks again Simon, very pleased that you took the trouble to locate the Alabaster Society.
        Regards
        Denise

Leave a Reply

