Just a few names to get me started – do you have a CARTLIDGE connection?

A recent old photograph of a group of people provided many clues when I turned it over as the reverse of the postcard is absolutely covered in handwritten names and signatures!

292

It was taken by the Photographers A & L Slingsby in Grange-over-Sands in Cumbria.

292a

Scanning the names I could see that the surname CARTLIDGE appeared several times with names Wilf G, Edith, James and Mr CARTLIDGE – being a more unusual surname I thought I would start my search here.

I quickly found a 1911 census record, as below, for a CARTLIDGE family living at 80 High Lane in Burslem in Stoke on Trent, which had names that fitted with postcard – James CARTLIDGE aged 38, a Lithographic Artist, was married to Edith aged 33 and had been married for ten years and their children were Reginald James aged 8, Wilfred George aged 4 and Edith May aged 2 – if this is the correct family I think it would possibly date my photograph to the 1930’s.

CARTLIDGE 1911 Census

Source Citation: Class: RG14; Piece: 16491; Schedule Number: 251 Source Information: Ancestry.com. 1911 England Census

James CARTLIDGE married Edith Emily SIMPSON in the April quarter of 1901 in Stoke on Trent Registration District.

James CARTLIDGE died in the December quarter of 1947 aged 74 and Edith Emily CARTLIDGE died on the 11th June 1949 aged 71 both in Stoke in Trent in Staffordshire.

The 1939 World War 2 Register shows their son Reginald James CARTLIDGE was born on 28th August 1902 and his occupation was a Colliery Manager and their daughter Edith May CARTLIDGE was born on 19th October 1908 and her occupation was a Infant School Teacher.

I wonder what the occasion was and why the CARTLIDGE family were involved with this fascinating group photograph – if anyone has a link to the CARTLIDGE family and can identify the family more closely in the photograph it would be great to hear from you.

As always I would love to reunite the postcard with a family connection especially as they have all handwritten their own names on the back.

Simon LAST

http://www.charnwood-genealogy.com

charnwoodresearch@virginmedia.com

About charnwoodgenealogy

I am a genealogist running a business called Charnwood Genealogy who loves to search Postcard Fairs for old social history photographs with possible clues that I can research and possibly reunite with their original families via this blog
This entry was posted in Postcard, Old Photograph, CARTLIDGE, Guild of One Name Studies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just a few names to get me started – do you have a CARTLIDGE connection?

  1. Firelands says:

    A great photo. You are lucky to have the names written on the back to give you a place to start researching. My grandmother left behind her 1907 high school class photo and another one of her junior/senior study hall. She also wrote the names of all these students on the back. Discovering those photos started me on an enjoyable two year research project, which I have chronicled on my blog: The Firelands History Website. I hope you have as pleasant a journey with your research project.

  2. Ian patterson says:

    Hi came across your post re Cartlidge Iam related to the Cartidge family

Leave a comment